Crime-fighting business people, heroic officer, anti-truancy crusader and Minnesota Supreme court justice among those honored


An unarmed police officer who tackled an armed suspect in New Hope City Hall; a nationally recognized expert in getting students back into school by going door-to-door; three members of the Lake Street business community who are fighting crime; and a newly appointed Minnesota Supreme Court Justice are among the people who received the Hennepin County Attorney’s Community Leadership Awards Wednesday.

This is the 16th year the county attorney’s office has presented the awards to people in the county who have made a difference in public safety and justice.

“I am quite pleased with the men and women we are honoring,” Hennepin County Attorney Mike Freeman said. “These people really are the bright lights in the community and the work they do is vital in making our cities the kind of places we want to live in."

Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Anne K. McKeig, a former assistant Hennepin County Attorney, received an award and gave the keynote address. Hennepin County Commissioner Randy Johnson, who is not seeking re-election after serving 38 years, was honored as well.

The others award recipients are:

  • Officer Beau Shoenhard of Minneapolis, who suffered a shattered wrist when as a New Hope police officer last year, took a bullet while tackling Ray Kmetz who was threatening people with a shotgun in New Hope City Hall
  • Daniel Farias, of Bloomington, ZoeAna Martinez, of Minneapolis and Miguel Zagal, of Eagan. They are business owners who are fighting prostitution, drug-dealing and street robberies through the Lake Street Court Watch
  • Colleen Kaibel, director of student retention & Recovery for the Minneapolis Public Schools who has knocked on doors to get students to return to school and graduate
  • Dr. Andrew Baker, Hennepin County’s Chief Medical Examiner who is key to prosecuting many murders
  • Doug Bros, of Wayzata, Nathan Cermak, Karen Hedman, of Coon Rapids, Nancy W. McLean, of Minneapolis, Murtaza Y. Mulla, Ann O’Donnell, of Edina, Chris Schommer, of Rosemount, Brenda Smedberg, of Plymouth and Allison E. Wiski, of North St. Paul, developed a sophisticated electronic case management system which allows police, prosecutors and judges to submit case files, write criminal complaints and sign and file them with the courts all electronically.

Click here to watch the video.